Please select one of the questions below for more information about using the Crash Report Online Purchase System
Q: What is the Crash Report Online Purchase System?
A: The Crash Report Online Purchase System is a fast, easy, and secure system designed for individuals involved in motor vehicle traffic crashes to request and purchase a copy of the Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report (CR-3) filed with TxDOT regarding their crash.
Q: What is TxDOT's role concerning crash reports?
A: The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) is the custodian of crash records for the State of Texas. Texas Transportation Code §550.062 requires any law enforcement officer who in the regular course of duty investigates a motor vehicle crash that results in injury to or the death of a person or damage to the property of any one person to the apparent extent of $1,000 or more, to submit a written report of that crash to TxDOT not later than the 10th day after the date of the crash.
TxDOT collects crash reports from every law enforcement agency in Texas and for crashes that occur on any public roadway in Texas, not just crashes occurring on the state highway system.
Q: How long are crash records retained at TxDOT?
A: The state retention schedule for crash reports and data is five years plus current year. Request for information outside this retention schedule is not available.
Q: How soon will my report be available for purchase after my crash?
A: Texas Transportation Code (TTC) §550.062 requires a law enforcement officer who investigates a crash and completes a Texas Peace Officer's Report (CR-3) to submit the report to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) not later than the 10th day after the date of the crash. Once the report is received by TxDOT, it may take up to 4 business days to process. If you are attempting to search for a recent crash report and receive no results, you may try your search again at a later date.
Q: What types of crash reports can I purchase online?
A: You may purchase an uncertified or certified electronic copy of a Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report (CR-3).
Q: Why should I request a certified electronic copy versus an uncertified electronic copy?
A: A certified electronic copy is requested when a person needs an official document, such as for a legal proceeding.
Q: How much does a certified letter of "No Record" cost? What is a certified letter of "No Record"?
A: The certified letter of "No Record" is available at no charge. This letter will state that the search criteria you input returned no results. A certified electronic copy is generally requested when a person needs an official document, such as for a legal proceeding.
Q: Will I still be able to purchase a crash report via mail service?
A: Yes. If you are unable to use the Crash Report Online Purchase System, you may purchase a copy of a Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report (CR-3) by completing the appropriate request form (CR-91) and mailing it with the required payment to the address shown on the form. The CR-91 is available for download at http://www.txdot.gov/driver/laws/crash-reports.html
. Please note a request by mail may take up to 30 days to process.
Q: I completed a Driver's Crash Report (CR-2) (Blue Form), is this available online?
A: No. You may purchase a copy of a Driver's Crash Report (CR-2) (Blue Form) by completing the appropriate request form (CR-91A) and mailing it with the required payment to the address shown on the form. The CR-91A is available for download at http://www.txdot.gov/driver/laws/crash-reports.html
Q: Is purchasing a crash report online secure?
A: Yes, all purchases are processed through Texas.gov which maintains security to the highest standards of government, commercial, and financial institutions.
Q: Will I get the crash report faster by purchasing it online?
A: Yes, the report would be available for immediate download after successful completion of the purchase. A request by mail may take up to 30 days to process.
Q: Can I request a crash report online any time?
A: Yes, this service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. This excludes periodic routine maintenance down time.
Q: What criteria must a record meet in order to be brought back as part of my search results?
A: The report must match all the information you input as part of your search criteria. Entering criteria in each of the fields may eliminate a possible match if the value in the field is not entered exactly as the investigator reported. Begin your search with a person's First and Last Name and the Crash Date. You may also include the County or City of the crash. The name should be entered as displayed on your driver license or as provided to the investigating officer.
Q: Will I receive multiple results that meet my criteria?
A: It is possible that you will receive more than one result; however, the system will require you to input additional information to narrow your results down to a single result. If after entering all additional data the system is still returning multiple crashes, contact (844) CRIS-HLP if you were actually involved in multiple crashes on the same day; if not, you will need to submit your request manually via a CR-91. The CR-91 is available for download at http://www.txdot.gov/driver/laws/crash-reports.html
Q: My search produced a large number of results. What should I do next?
A: You will need to input additional information that will allow the system to narrow your results to a single crash report. Follow the prompts provided by the system to enter the additional information.
If the system cannot identify your individual crash using the information provided, you will not be able to purchase a crash report through this automated facility.
Q: My search did not return any results. What should I do next?
A: If there were no results returned, we do not have a report in our system meeting the criteria entered. You may either try another search based on newly input information; print a letter of no record (if needed); or try again at a later date.
Q: How long will the crash report I purchase be available for viewing and downloading?
A: Once the report has been successfully purchased, you will be able to download the crash report by entering the local reference ID number at the provided URL for ten days. The local reference ID number and the designated URL will both be provided in your confirmation email.
Q: How do I download my record once I have paid for it?
A: You will be directed to the Download Reports screen that will list the crash report(s) that you purchased. Under "Action" you will have the option to download the individual crash report(s) purchased or to download all.
If you are returning to the Crash Report Online Purchase System, you will select the option of "I want to download reports that I have purchased previously." At this time you will be required to enter the local reference ID number provided in your confirmation email. You will then be directed to the Download Reports screen.
If you are accessing from URL provided in confirmation email, you will be required to enter the local reference ID number provided in your confirmation email. You will then be directed to the Download Reports screen.
Q: What do I do if I receive a message on a field stating the information was not collected during that time frame?
A: This message means that for the date of the crash, data was not collected for that data field. Skip this field and input data in the remaining fields.
Q: How can I interpret the codes provided on the Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report numbered fields?
A: The Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report (CR-3) - Code Sheet is available for download at http://txdot.gov/government/enforcement/crash-records.html
. Use the Code Sheet to interpret codes provided on the crash report.
Q: What is the cost of purchasing a crash report online?
A: The cost for an uncertified electronic copy of a Texas Peace Officer's crash report is $6.00 and $8.00 for a certified electronic copy.
Q: What forms of payment can I use to pay for my crash report?
A: Purchases must be made using a credit card. VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover are all acceptable.
Q: Can I use my debit card to pay for my crash report?
A: If the debit card includes an approved credit card logo, then yes it can be used as form of payment.
Q: How will I know my payment was processed?
A: The option to download your report will become available and an email will be sent to the address you provide that confirms the purchase. This email will provide your unique local reference ID number. This local reference ID number will allow you to download the report up to ten days after successful purchase by inputting it at the URL provided in the email.
Q: What browser versions does this service support?
A: This service supports the current and the immediate previous version of the following browsers:
Q: While downloading my report something happened to cause the process to fail. What do I do?
A: Depending on the browser settings, when restarting a browser session after a hard shutdown, a user will either see a "blank" browser page, or return to a Crash Purchase page "Session Expired."
- If the shutdown occurs before the payment submission, the search will have to be started over again.
- If the shutdown occurs after payment submission, the local reference ID can be used to return to the purchase.